Cap drop by 40%?

Forum for Pittsburgh Penguins-related messages.

Cap drop by 40%?

Postby Skatingpen on Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:15 pm

Per Fillipponi,

“NHL expert Pierre McGuire tells @937theFan the NHL salary cap could be reduced by 40% for 2021. That would be a colossal mess. With guaranteed deals, teams can't reduce their payroll that much. How would the Penguins get cap compliant!!!“
Skatingpen
AHL Hall of Famer
AHL Hall of Famer

Re: Cap drop by 40%?

Postby FLPensFan on Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:04 pm

I saw this going around on Twitter. McGuire was saying cap could go down 25-40% because of loss of revenue from the season cut short.

You want my "expert opinion????" (Yes, Andy Sutton...I AM AN EXPERT) LOL

This cannot and will not happen. As some other things have stated on Twitter, the way the cap and the CBA is devised, ALL THE RISK is on the players right now. Revenues go down, players lose money. Players have escrow and lose money every year. There hasn't been a single year since escrow was introduced that players have gotten their full salary.

The NHL owners are going to have to bite the bullet here. They are going to have to take some losses, or going to need to take out some loans to help cover. If I am the NHLPA, and the NHL comes out and says, sorry guys, cap is going down to 60M next year because of the pandemic, you guys are screwed because we want all our money....I'd be on strike before they could even get that full sentence out.

Owner losses. Owner loans. Some type of agreement where for 1-2 years the "cap hits" are rolled back, or better yet, the salaries stay the same, but the "cap hits" count 5% less for each contract. So, a 10M AAV contract only counts 9.5M against the cap. That 5% across every player adds up pretty quickly, and a 5% reduction in effective cap hit is actually bigger than a cap increase to 84M. Cap going from 81.5M to 84M is only a 3% increase in cap.